Let’s Talk About Food

13 Jul

We returned home from my mom’s house with A LOT of leftovers. Mr. Mack and I hate for food to go to waste and in the beginning of our marriage, left overs were just that, left overs. We ate them the same way they were served leaving us burnt out on that meal. We have been trying to be more creative with the left overs. We had bags of chicken, steak, potatoes that we came home with so one night, we took the chicken, added some rice and veggies and had stir fry. There were left overs from that so I made fried rice from those left overs for myself and Missy Mack for lunch.

Here is my easy fried rice recipe.

Missy Mack and I made our very first cake balls (we have eaten them, but never made them).

Easy as pie. I tried to create a cake ball tower. It was a fail. Maybe if I had let the cake cool more, it might have worked.

This is how it works, make a cake, let it cool, crumble the cake into a large bowl, add a can of store bought frosting, mix together, use a melon baller to make a ball, melt almond bark (in batches of four) in the microwave for 1 min., stir bark, dip ball in bark, cover, lay on wax paper to dry, sprinkle with sprinkles. Let dry. Enjoy these bite size wonders.

This makes me wonder if cake balls were invented with a left over cake? Maybe…

Next, Missy Mack wanted to use her tiny little skillet that she received as a prize for excellent behavior in cooking camp, so I taught her to scramble an egg. Now, all she wants to do is make and eat eggs. I love it!

Last step for the egg, sprinkling some salt on top!

Speaking of eggs, Mr. Mack made me brunch one late morning with our left over bacon wrapped steak. He cut a slice of french bread in half, toasted it, put an over easy egg on top and served skillet reheated bacon and steak next to it. Delish and I wasn’t hungry all day!

The other night, we were watching Jamie Oliver at Home and he was showing what to do with pastry dough and he made a steak pie. I have had steak and kidney pie in London because it is a staple in Britain and it was…. not my favorite. When Jamie said he was making steak pie, I know I was out. However….. this looked amazing! So we tried it with our potato and steak left overs. Heaven! It looked fancy. We will make this for company. I was shocked! Here’s Jamie’s Recipe.

Here are the photos from Mr. Mack’s creation:

Step One: Use a pillsbury pie crust and line a skillet with one of the crusts. Par bake at 350 for a few minutes.

Step Two: dice celery, carrots and onions. Saute in a pan with a tiny bit of oil.

Step Three: add sliced mushrooms & minced garlic

Then I got distracted and forgot to take pictures, but
Step Four: Once mushrooms are browned, add 1 bottle of Guinness beer
Step Five: Sprinkle a few tablespoons of flour over the mixture and stir. It should become thicker. Add more flour if needed.
Step Six: Add to par baked crust.
Step Six and a half: grate some white cheddar cheese and add to the mix.
Step Seven: Take the second pie crust, place on top, use egg wash or water to seal the two crusts together. Cut small slits into the top crust to allow steam to escape.

Here is the final product. It was so yummy. I was impressed, shocked and happy to know we have a new thing to do with left overs. We added potatoes to our pie and did NOT serve peas with it. Yuck! We did served sliced cantaloupe with it. Very southern and very refreshing. This pie also needs to be eaten with a glass of red wine.

20110713-050814.jpg

20110713-050833.jpg

I would love to hear what you like to do with left overs?

Today, I learned that one of my favorite bloggers is back blogging after some time off. Every thing I have tried of hers is easy and yummy. My favorite is the Asian inspired whole chicken. Welcome back Live.Love. Eat !

One other food place I love is Taste Book. There is an app too! You can input your own recipes and make a cookbook with your recipes. Plus you can browse lots of sites and recipes in one spot. On the app, you can make a grocery list based on the recipe and add your own items to the list. Very handy!

Another note on Kolaches, just because I am trying to see if I can mention them every day this week (not really). I had no idea that they were just a Texas thing, but I guess that makes sense due to the high population of Czechs in Texas. Also, this week I saw these ladies from Fort Worth talking about their online bakery that specializes in kolaches. They were talking about this pecan pie kolache. I must have one.

One Response to “Let’s Talk About Food”

  1. Cindy July 14, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Love the ideas – we have been better about left overs but I too get bored with them. I use a lot of the left over meat and throw it on salads or make chicken salad out of it. We also add it to tortillas and make tacos. Mr. ESPN will eat leftovers for days and be fine with it – I am lucky!

Leave a Reply

