Downtown Adventure

28 Jul

Yesterday, our Tuesday adventure was around Downtown Austin. Seriously, we barely left 4th-12th streets. We started our day, at Franks. I have done nothing but hear about Frank’s since Mr. Mack found Franks. Franks and their coffee, Franks and their chicken and waffles. Frank, Frank, Frank. So, finally Missy Mack and I were taken to breakfast at Franks.

We have decided that we would like to adopt the drinking out of ball jars, like that do at Franks and many other hipster places these days. Tonight, at the store, we spent $8 on our new glassware and we are super excited!

Next, stop, the Texas Capital. Missy Mack has been asking to see inside the capital. We have been there a few times, but not inside, so we took her.

Then we visited the scene of the crime, where I fell and hit my head coming out of the Senate Chamber. Here is what I learned. I fell far down the stairs, that door is hard, and there is a door stop at the bottom of the door that is very loose now- I am pretty sure my arm did that. It felt good to face the door, the stairs and show Mr. Mack and Missy Mack to where it all went down.

As we were leaving, it was lunch time and I found it cute and interesting that many older men were camped out on the lawn of the capital with their lawn chairs and coolers having lunch. They varied in age so I wonder, if this a daily routine, weekly or do they work at the capital and just how they choose to spend lunch on a 105 degree day?

For lunch we headed to Missy Mack’s favorite, Schlostzkys, an Austin original. I couldn’t get over this place. Yes, I have been to them before, many times. However, I haven’t been to the original spot. Missy Mack has been on a field trip and has talked about it non-stop.  It does everything. A bakery, a sandwich place, ice cream, Cinnabon and it has one of those Coke Freestyle machines. Cool, peach sprite.

We have been toying around with the idea of renting a condo downtown and living in the sky, so we went to check these digs out. We waiting in the lobby to get the tour. Here is the art:


We checked out the pool.

We traveled to the 26th floor to look at a 2 bedroom with a balcony view of the lake and an amazing kitchen. It was swanky. It was cool, but Mr. Mack wouldn’t look out the window. He stayed close to the wall and wouldn’t allow Missy Mack to check out the balcony. Silly. The other problem, no playroom. Where the hell would all the fucking toys in our lives go? In the freight elevator? Or maybe in the $100 a month parking spot?

I have been wanting to check out this Dr. Seuss art exhibit at a gallery on 5th street. I have thought about taking my kindergarteners on a field trip because I do a unit on Seuss. I know a stupid amount of information on Seuss. I figure, Missy Mack’s take on the exhibits would give me an idea on if they would like it. Here is what I know, adults will think this is really cool, kids, not so much.  Cool stuff….

I want this one:

And here is one for our economic situation:

On the way home we drove around neighborhoods connected to downtown and looked at the fancy houses, with the fancy lawns, their columns and service entrances while we made lots of ridiculous jokes about being rich.

We ended our day with a little night swim. A long, fun day!

One Response to “Downtown Adventure”

  1. Cindy July 28, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    I want to spend summers with you – your family does so much fun stuff! Those waffles look divine!

Leave a Reply

