Girls Road Trip

3 Aug

A girls road trip underway and it’s not mine.

I wish.

Lizzy Mack and her girls are on a road trip like non other. We were lucky enough to be a stop along the way. Here is where they have been:

They started in Boston, of course.

Then, they headed to Memphis.

I am not sure exactly what they did here, but they visited a friend, who was staying in a swanky hotel. They got pampered and had fabulous desserts. So far, I figured out desserts are a very important part of this trip. They have some great stories from this little visit. The hotel staff will be chatting about these girls for awhile. Cute and funny.

Next stop, New Orleans.

This time they stayed in a hostel. Have you ever done anything like this before? Needless to say, it was a vast difference between the swanky Memphis hotel and a youth hostel in NOLA. They offered no details to this stop, but they giggled and said they had a GREAT time. As they should, New Orleans is meant for a good time and nothing else. Have you seen that new commercial for New Orleans where they say you turn into a different person in New Orleans. Great commercial. I truly believe that every college students or fresh out of college person should spend at least one night in New Orleans having a great time. From what I remember about my trip to Mardi Gras my sophomore year, it was fabulous and I am so glad that I went. I should post those pictures sometimes. Although, I am sure they look like everyone else’s.

Their next stop was Corpus Christi, Texas for a beach stop.

One of the girls grew up there and they visited her childhood home. She actually was brave enough to knock on the door, introduce herself and see what they had done to the home. She was really glad she did that. I don’t know that I would be brave enough. Lizzy Mack has family near Corpus so they stayed with cousins, visited family and Lizzy Mack got to spend some time with her grandmother, which is good. Then they headed to San Antonio, where Lizzy Mack was raised. They stayed with her dad and got groceries and camping gear while there. They made a stop at the alamo.

The next day they headed to Austin, and stayed with one of the girl’s godparents, where they were taken to a fancy dinner at La Condesa

Here the godparent’s dog ate their groceries they got in San Antonio for the camping portion of their trip.

The next morning, they came here for breakfast and played with Missy Mack.

They blew bubbles, played dolls and ate breakfast tacos. It was fun to have them here even though it was really short. I tried to replenish their snacks there were rudely eaten by the dog. Then they were off to Alpine, Texas to visit Lizzy Mack’s mom.

Then they are camping in Grand Canyon

Then a stop in Durango, Colorado, where one of the girls was raised.

and the last stop is Boulder, Colorado, where a good friend lives

Then I guess there are going back to Boston.

Fun right?

I have always wanted to go on a road trip like that. I am so happy they got to do it and they took the initiative and just went with the flow. I wish she had posted more photos along the way and I can’t wait to hear more about it.

2 Responses to “Girls Road Trip”

  1. Cindy August 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Wow what a trip!! Look slike a great time – well except for the camping – not my style! Swanky hotel though is completely my style! :)!

    • mrsmerrymack August 3, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      Yeah, I am not down on the camping. I have never done it and I don’t ever plan to. I’d like to see the Grand Canyon, but not sleep on the hard ground there.

Leave a Reply

