The Countdown Is On

5 Aug

This week marked two weeks until I return to school, so the countdown is on.

Sadly, it’s been 108 degrees every day this week. It’s too hot to even go to the library, even tough we have been this week. Other than that, we have pretty much been staying in and I have been trying to finish up my annual clean things out before school starts again stuff.

I started the week by making some  homemade pickles.

 

4-6 pickling cucumbers quartered and set in deep bowl.

1 cup white vinegar

1/2 cup white sugar

3 T salt

2 T dill or dill seed

3 garlic cloves crush

4 cups water

Bring ingredients minus the cucumbers to a boil. Boil until sugar and salt are dissolved. Pour over cucumbers and put a small plate on top to submerge cucumbers. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Keeps for about a week.

Mr. Mack made us a beautiful Breakfast

Missy Mack learned how to eat a boiled egg and decided she didn’t care for the yolk.

We had soup, salad and croissants for dinner one night. Here is  Missy Mack’s plate, she would only agree to a tiny bit of soup and salad, which she didn’t touch and ate 10 croissants.

This week was National Ice Cream Sandwich Day, so we made some.

We went to the Nutty Brown to hear Bruce Robinson in concert with my neighbor growing up. It was so fun and catch up and remember our childhood. Mr. Mack did lots of dancing with Missy Mack. It was heart melting sweet.

 

Then I set to cleaning out things.

A confession:

We have a bill problem. What to do with them? We pay them on line, yet they still come in the mail. We don’t open them because we view the statements online. So, we have lots of piles of bill/mail. They just sit there piling up. I got a basket for it. I file them, but we never look at the file. What is the point. The basket over flowed and there became more piles. I went through it all.

What do  you do with your bill/mail/paperwork? I need an intervention.

I also started teaching Missy Mack to play chess. Lesson 1- the board and it’s pieces are complete and Lesson 2- the pawn and it’s moves complete. She has mastery of setting up the board and masming the pieces and is working on mastery of the pawn moves and games.

Headed to the Mack reunion this weekend so you know there will be stories.

Happy Hot Weekend to you!

2 Responses to “The Countdown Is On”

  1. starnesfam August 6, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    Finally able to catch up!

    Pickles……reminds me of my grandmother, who made them all the time with cucumbers she grew in her garden.

    Countdown is on!

  2. Sara August 6, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I’ve never made pickles – yum! Might have to try that.

    And I agree with Missy Mack – I hate the yolk in hard boiled eggs. Yuck.

    I can’t believe it’s already time for school to start. I hate that the kids (and teachers) have to start back when it’s 109 degrees everyday.

Leave a Reply

