Purple, Green, Yellow and Red

1 Sep

So, kindergarten is turning out to be challenging for the Mom and Dad. This being the teacher and the parent in the school is a little more tough than I expected. For the most part Mr. Mack and I observe a sweet, kind and funny child from our daughter. That is not to say that she doesn’t have her moments. She does. She is all girl. A drama mama and has been known to break down in a bit of a melt down and it is usually due to being tired or not well rested. Missy Mack has had two fits in school. It’s day 8, people. Day 8.

Kindergarten is ran on a color system. Purple is all good. Green is a safe place, but it is a warning, Yellow is- you have crossed the line and you better slow it down and finally there is Red- sitting out at recess big trouble buster. Everyday ends with a report on what color you ended up on. High fives and hugs are given if its a purple or green day. Sad faces, consequences and lectures are what happen if its a yellow or red day.

Turns out that Missy Mack is more of a yellow or red kind of girl. I was not expecting this. In fact, I will admit that I am shocked. I am a teacher I know these kinds of kids. I never expected that I would fall in this category. I am struggling because I want a fierce independence in my child. I want her to consider the rules and sometimes deem them stupid, but I also want her to be respectful, kind and cooperative towards all people and especially towards teachers.

I am truly at a loss of how to handle this. I keep hoping that it is only day 8 and Missy Mack is just working it all out and once she figures out who is boss and excepts that it is not her, but what if it doesn’t work out? What if I have the child who is the problem child of the class?

After her fit today, we discussed how it wasn’t fair to the other students to disrupt their day just because she didn’t get her way, how it made her teacher feel and how we felt about her behaving inappropriately at school. Together, we wrote a letter to her teacher. Missy Mack copied the letter. We made clear expectations, talked about how she could reach them and told her there would be consequences at home too.

We shall see.

Let’s hope for a purple day or better meds for Mama!

20110831-091633.jpg

20110831-091710.jpg

2 Responses to “Purple, Green, Yellow and Red”

  1. starnesco@yahoo.com September 1, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    My kids don’t throw fits, so I can’t relate.

    I kid. I kid.

    I lived in the ‘color’ years. It’s very taxing on you. I hated that drive to pick up Carter at Primrose, just waiting to see what shit he pulled that day. I feel for you.

    Now, it’s Jack’s turn. No note yet from the teacher. I’m avoiding her like the plague.

  2. Cindy September 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Good luck – it is so hard! Chatty had a couple rough spots and has steared clear of them since K. I love the note writing idea – we did that too when Chatty didn’t make her day count! Good luck – you are a great mom and teacher!!

Leave a Reply

