A Weekend of Cooking

7 Sep

I just cooked away this weekend. I’d read a recipe and if it sounded good and we had the ingredients, I made it.

I started out making my favorite sugar cookie recipe to help Missy Mack with her Press Dough adventure. I figured out quickly that I didn’t have the patience for her to make the entire batch of cookies so I saved half and made some kick off College Football Weekend cookies.

They were so yummy, I made another batch of the dough.

Sugar Cookies

2 cups AP flour

1t. baking powder

1/2 t. salt

1/4 t. baking soda

1 stick of unsalted room temperature butter

1 large egg

1 t. vanilla

1/4 c. sour cream

Powder Sugar Icing

1. Pre-heat oven to 325. Sift flour, baking powder, soda and salt. Set aside.

2. In an electric mixer on medium. Beat butter and sugar until light & fluffy (about 2-4 min). Add egg & vanilla. Beat to combine.

3. With mixer on low, add 1/2 the mixture, followed by the sour cream & then the other 1/2 of the flour. Mix until smooth. Dough will be stiff.

4. Drop in 3T mound 3-4 inches apart on ungreased pans. Place in oven for 10 min. or until edges are brown

OR

4. Wrap in plastic wrap and put in the fridge for an hour. Liberally dust your surface with flour and your rolling pin and roll out to cut with your favorite cookie cutters. Place on pans a good distance apart.

Then ice with powder sugar icing.

Next, we verhad some tomatoes about to go bad, so I drizzled them with some olive oil, salt, pepper and Italian seasoning and roasted them to make some tomato sauce to use later in the week.

Then, I read a tweet about Pistachio Chai Muffins and that sounded yummy, so I made those.

us

Mr. Mack has been making stock with whatever is left in the fridge. They are so yummy. We have been sending them to my friend with cancer after her rounds of chemo, but Missy Mack woke up sounding like a a long time smoker so we defrosted so broth threw some veggie rigatoni and she ate it up. Let’s hope it works a miracle on her. The smoke all around our house isn’t helping either. Mr. Mack just commented after reading a tweet about needing volunteer fire fighters to fight the new fire that sprung up evacuating 500 homes, that he didn’t think he could volunteer to fight a fire, but if they needed someone to scramble some eggs, he was all over it.  A near neighborhood is some what contained from fire, where they have evacuated thousands and 40 homes have been lost. It is just sad. I can’t even imagine. The air is filled with ‘snow’ falling from the sky that is ash, haze and the smell of a BBQ. It was beautiful outside, but we were stuck inside due to the air. Boo! I just pray that everyone stays safe.

Meanwhile, I cook.

2 Responses to “A Weekend of Cooking”

  1. starnesfam September 7, 2011 at 3:18 am #

    Those tomatoes look fabulous! I never think to do that. Instead, I just watch them go bad.

  2. Cindy September 7, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Praying for everyone’s safety!! Keep on cookin – want to send some west???

Leave a Reply

