A Reader

9 Sep

Yesterday, a first happened for me. My child read a book to me. She’s been in the emerging reading stage for a while and is still there, but this was a book she had never seen before and she read it.

I’ve had the pleasure of watching a lot of kids learn to read and each time it is special and magical and full of pride. However, when it was my own child, I thought I just might burst.

In kindergarten they pick a book from a preselected box to take home, read and return. When they have done thus 100 times, a surprise arrives for them in the classroom. Brilliant and special. We will be so proud when Missy Mack reaches 100.

Here is time number one:

Leave a Reply

