Going to the Dentist

3 Oct

This summer, Missy Mack went to the dentist for the first time. I know I should have done it sooner, but I have a serious serious scare of the dentist. Missy Mack, not scared at all. She was proud and excited. Here she is for her first visit.

and who doesn’t need a trip to the ice cream store after a very brave visit to the dentist even when you find out you have two cavities?

We learned that she had two cavities. One deep, that needed and crown and one next to it. I scheduled the visit for the first week of school. I cancelled the appointment because the first week was crazy. Once at school, I started talking about it and many people thought the crown was unnecessary, so I started second guessing the procedure. I contacted a high school friend who is a dentist to see what he thought. He said the crown was necessary! So, I made the appointment.

This time, Mr. Mack handled the visit. It was quick, it was painless and she was a super brave girl. They ended up not needing to do a crown after all. She has a puff lip, but she was all smiles when they picked me up from school. Here are the picture texts I received today:

Mr. Mack said this dentist was amazing and that he would trust her to do a variety procedures in Missy Mack’s mouth. He said, she had the right touch with Missy Mack and the right amount of confidence. That is good stuff.

Good girls at the dentist, get milkshakes for lunch:


and a fun day at home with daddy watching Tangled and going to the Hopping House.

Here’s the problem, now her lip looks like this:

A giant nasty ulcer in her mouth. I was prone to ulcers in my mouth as a child, but I have never seen anything like this before. It is from her biting on her lip when it was puffy and then not leaving it the f alone. I had a mom recommend a lip balm she bought for her child who gets them and I remembered a friend giving me some Lysine pills to help with one I had recently, so I stopped and picked up the stick.

It has helped but it is still big, gross and now bleeding. Missy Mack is now complaining about it. I guess I will put a call into the doctor tomorrow. I hope this doesn’t ruin future visits.

2 Responses to “Going to the Dentist”

  1. starnesfam October 3, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I am prone to ulcers as well, but never that big or bleeding…..just very sensitive to salt and really any friction. Hope she heals quickly…….brave girl!

  2. Cindy October 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I get them too and take Lysine … will have to check out that lip balm.

Leave a Reply

