Meet Scruffy

16 Jan

I was certain after we put our beloved Lucy to sleep last New Year ‘s Day, I would never have another dog. As Christmas approached I noticed I was pinning pictures of cute dogs on my pinterest. Mr. Mack noticed I was gushing over dogs in commercials and said, I think it’s time for a dog. We started looking at the pounds website, looking on petfinder, telling friends and discussing it with Missy Mack. It was fun. She was excited. I started having fantasies about Missy Mack opening a box with a puppy from Santa on Christmas morning.

Then a few weeks before Christmas, Missy Mack tells me that she tells me she has decided that she doesn’t really want a dog anymore. When I ask why, here is what she says:

‘I don’t want the dog to eat my barbies, I don’t want to clean up after it and I am afraid that a new dog would take the place of Lucy in our hearts.’

Sweet baby girl!

My response:

“Well, nothing will ever take the place of Lucy in our hearts and Mommy WANTS a dog even if you don’t want one.”

Missy Mack:

“Mommy, having a dog is a WANT, not a NEED. You don’t NEED a dog. ”

We went to the pound with Missy Mack and looked. She spent the whole time trying to convince us to come home with a dog that day. We talked with her about how we had to find the right dog for our family and the day we visited, they didn’t have the right dog for us. She has asked every day since that visit if I have looked on the website and found a dog that is right for us.

Last week, my BFF sent us this photo from her vet.

Then we found this photo of the same dog.


I spent this week writing e mails back and forth with the vet finding out more about Scruffy. Yesterday, we went to pick Scruffy out for a try out with the Mack family. If he works out, he will be our McScruffy or McTruffle.

He is the cutest, sweetest and tiniest thing I have ever encountered. A true snuggler.

The cat has been in hiding so that’s whose approval we are waiting on. We are also having trouble getting him to sleep in an appropriate place without barking!

If he works out, we keep him!

Look at that sweet boy!

2 Responses to “Meet Scruffy”

  1. Cindy January 16, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Miss Mack is such a sweet smart girl! Hope it works out!

  2. starnesfam January 16, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Sweet punkin. I hope she is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

