What About Our Girls?

25 Jan

I saw this on a friend’s facebook page and at first I was shocked by the picture on her page since I work with her. Then, I watched the video and I have done nothing but think about it since I watched it.

Have you seen this?

What do you think?

I can’t decide if I should put my thoughts here or see what you ladies think first…

Maybe, I’ll add my commentary later.

3 Responses to “What About Our Girls?”

  1. HA January 27, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Wow, that is fantastic and SO true. Think your school would let you do a screening? Probably more for slightly older audiences, but interesting thought… http://www.missrepresentation.org/faq/

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Sara January 30, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I have lots of thoughts on this subject, but not enough time to discuss them all. Here’s the thing – I don’t believe that anything is preventing women from being in positions of power besides women themselves. We’re hardest on ourselves no matter what anyone says. Women judge each other more than ANY man judges a woman. I’m sure there are tons of obstacles out there, but women like Condi, Sarah Palin, Hilary Clinton, Nancy Pelosi, Oprah, Martha Stewart – they’ve all proved to us that it CAN be done if you’re willing. It’s whether or not, as a woman, you’re willing to sacrifice the things that men sacrifice. As in family, kids, school programs, etc… I know that sounds terrible. And men have gotten very much involved in their kids lives over the last decade or so, but it’s still WOMEN who run the family. Who keep it going. And if you’re in a powerful position like VP or Secretary of State…I’m sorry…you just don’t get that one on one time with your kids. I don’t care what they say. They have nannies. Probably more than one. They’re not picking them up from school every single day and hearing about their day on the car ride home. They’re not making crafts with their kids on a Friday night because they’re having to attend a dinner or whatever it may be. I think the women that say that can “do it all” have a different perception of what “all” means to me. And I know for a fact I wouldn’t be able to have a very demanding, powerful job and be the Mom that I want to be for my kids.
    As far as the media and the way women are portrayed. Is this something new??? No. It’s just that we’re able to watch it and see it for the first time. I actually think it’s gotten much better over the years. Think back to the 60’s and where women were and what their husbands expected of them?? Meeting him at the door with a kiss and a cocktail, children quiet and bathed, dinner ready and on the table…HA! Not in this day in age. And I can’t even get into the whole body perception thing.

    My opinion – women need to take a look at what being a mom really is. To me, it’s THE most powerful, demanding and highest ranking job that I’ll ever have. And I’m perfectly content with that.

  3. mrsmerrymack February 1, 2012 at 12:21 am #

    I also have a lot to say about this conversation. I love everything you said, Sara. I agree, that being a mom is the hardest most worth it job on the planet and that if you don’t understand that, then your priorities aren’t straight. I hate that we were told a bill of goods by being told we could have it all. You can’t have it all and be good at anything. Some days I hate that I have been made to compromise and be a mediocre mom and a mediocre teacher and a mediocre wife. I also have days where I am certain that I would die without my job. I love my job, my work place, and other people’s kids (including my own). I was meant to be a teacher and I was meant to be a mom. I also would NEVER survive in the 60s and it will be a cold day in hell when I cook a dinner for my husband and met him at the door with a cocktail. I’d be in jail. I also don’t buy into what the media does to women and their image. I never have, but that is my personality and my mindset. I have no idea how it will affect my daughter and that scares the shit out of me. I can get pretty wound up about how men view women and how men view women in the workplace, so that is the piece that totally pisses me off about this video. I am happy to see how far we have come, but it reminds me how much further we have to go.

Leave a Reply

