The Haircut

28 Feb

Big things happened this weekend.

Missy Mack got her haircut. It was all her. I threaten all the time to cut it every morning when she cries while brushing. Lately, it’s gotten gross. Every day it is sticky or crusty and I can’t run the brush through it. She is all girl but it doesn’t bother her to be messy, sticky or dirty.

I told her that she was going to get a haircut and I was thinking a trim and shape up. She decided she wanted it cut.

Short.

I had to talk her into longer. The first snip of the scissors I started freaking out a bit. It was short. I kept wondering, does she know what she is getting into? Will she cry when she realizes how much hair she is cutting?

I started texting Mr. Mack, he joined us in case I had a break down. When she realized how short it was going to be, a giant smile came across her face and she announced that she loved it.

Relief.

Since the haircut, Missy Mack has not stopped starring at herself in the mirror. She keeps telling me how much she loves it. How cute she is. She brushes it all day long. She is proud and confident. Is everything a mother could hope for.

Then a ‘friend’ made fun of her hair today and made her cry. Mama bear (and Daddy bear) wanted to kick some 5 year old ass.

4 Responses to “The Haircut”

  1. Cindy February 28, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Love it!! She looks darling!! My kids always have crusty stuff in their hair. I tell them all the time to pull their hair back with they eat/brush teeth/etc. I can empathise with the morning tears and the hair brush!!

  2. starnesfam February 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    It’s precious. I would love to cut Lainey’s. People might shoot me, though. So lame.

  3. Christie March 23, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    Love it!! I keep hoping Ashlyn will cut hers … nope, she’s holding onto some fantasy of being like “Tangled!”

    • mrsmerrymack March 23, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      That is exactly what was going on with Missy Mack. She has started a trend. All the girls in her class are now cutting their hair.

Leave a Reply

