Brace Yourself

7 Mar

Holy Weekend, Batman!

It was like a whirlwind.

Friday night was our annual auction night at school. Well, it wasn’t at school, it was for the school. We had a sitter, again! The theme was Mardi Gras. I decided to make my own mask. I thought I could do it. I could not.

Missy Mack helped. She couldn’t make a good mask either.

I took it to school and a very talented teacher fixed it for me. Here is a crazy husband at the party sporting  my mask.


I may have behaved badly. May. I am attending Bollywood party that I bid on. I spilled red wine on my favorite new top and another party goer.  Fabulous!

Saturday, was watch week at Ballet Austin. It was so exciting to see her class. It was great. The presumably strict teacher was actually very kind, funny and the perfect balance of firm in a very loving way. These girls wanted to do good for her. The class was hard and required a lot of concentration.  I was beaming with pride. It was old school true ballet technique. We were not allowed to take pictures of the class. That seems silly and annoying, but it turned out to be great. All the parents were actually engaged in the class. We were watching and listening and experiencing that moment. We were not fiddling with the camera watching the class through the lens. We were not our phones. We were watching our daughters think, learn, stretch, laugh and enjoy their class. Here are some photos I snapped before class.

Missy Mack and I went to see Hansel & Gretel after dance. It was so neat. What a great version of the story. Once again, I was very impressed with their family performance.

Later, that day, this arrived.

We are now a two car family! It has been two years. This will change our lives. Hopefully, it will help in the job search.

We went to a nice dinner and enjoyed being with family,

The next morning, the grandparents had a surprise for Missy Mack.


Tickets to Party Day with The Laurie Berkner Band.

While, they sang and danced, Mr. Mack and I went on a little lunch date at Lucy’s Fried Chicken. It was such a fun place. The weather was fabulous! The vibe was groovy. The food was great!

I had oysters

Mr. Mack had a bucket of chicken


We met Missy Mack outside the theater to jet her off to a birthday party.

It was a first for Missy Mack, Roller Skating.

She has so much confidence! She pretty much shuffled and never let go of the walker, yet she thought she was the greatest skater. Ever.

Poor Mr. Mack made a sad choice to wear flip flops. His poor toes.

There was even some Hokey Pokey.

I have video too, but I haven’t uploaded it yet.

On the way home we stopped for dinner. Missy Mack excused herself to the bathroom and came out with a tooth missing.

She pulled it herself! She is so proud. Weird thing is, she doesn’t want to put it under her pillow for the tooth fairy. It is hanging out in her pinch pot she made in art. Is this strange?

Fun tiring weekend.

One Response to “Brace Yourself”

  1. starnesfam March 7, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    Toothless! Darling.

    My kids LOVE the Laurie Berkner Band. Must be a Texas thing.

    Loved the recap. You’re on a blogging roll!

Leave a Reply

