339: May the Scores Be With You

24 Apr

20130423-213333.jpg

A teacher was wearing a similar shirt to school today. Super funny.

I hate this mother fucking tests. I hate what it does to children. I hate what it does to teachers. I hate what it does to administrators. I hate what it does to schools. I hate our legislators, NCLB, Race to the Top, all of it. It is not good for anyone except Pearson. Fuck Pearson.

I spent the evening emailing back and forth with a few parents of my students, the gifted ones, coaching through the melt downs and roller coasters their children are on due to the testing environment at school this week. My students, the above average ones, are wound up. Imagine what the struggling children are feeling.

It’s just not right. We aren’t teaching thinking, problem solving or anything we value in our society ….. Except a test score. Why do we value these arbitrary numbers?

I read this article this week and it speaks so loud and clear, I don’t understand why we are creating an education system like this? Is this what we want? No. So, why?

One Response to “339: May the Scores Be With You”

  1. Cindy April 24, 2013 at 4:11 am #

    Well said my friend! Hope y’all make it out ok!!

Leave a Reply

