321: Saying Goodbye

12 May

I remember when I was 12 years old, my best friend’s 18 month old baby brother died at home while I had my birthday party. The days and weeks following were extremely difficult. I didn’t understand how God could take a little baby from a family. Why would He bless this family with a beautiful baby and then take him away? I watched this family grieved, each in their own way. It was sad and confusing.

Today my daughter learned that babies die and we are forced to gather together and make sense of something so wrong. I watched many little first graders gather around their beautiful teacher with a sweet baby boy in her arms, excited to see the new baby they have been waiting for, but listen to a minister try to explain why one lived and the other died.

It was a beautiful service with blue balloons that we released to the sky at the end.

Luckily, there were many friends to provide food, comfort and grandparents who came and rescued Missy Mack from the adults.

I am sure the days and weeks to come will continue to be confusing as we celebrate the birth of Mr. L and cope with the loss of Mr. A.

One Response to “321: Saying Goodbye”

  1. Cindy May 13, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    So sorry to hear about Mr. A. Sending lots of prayers your way.

Leave a Reply

