281: Being A Mom

21 Jun

Today was a much needed day at home. We have 2 weeks of laundry and a neglected house to tend to after being out of town and returning to work. I got all the laundry done, slept late, colored my hair, cleaned the kitchen and snacked and watched a movie with Missy Mack. She and I also cleaned out her closet and got it all ready for summer. That is such a task. I am telling you, she has an amazing wardrobe. We should all be do lucky. My mom and step-dad spoil her to death. I love it. She has become so helpful. She helped every step of the way.

Panic began to set in after all the chores were done as I realized I leave tonight and will not be back until Wednesday. I know I have a very able partner in my husband and he worries about Missy Mack as much as I do but I just know he will forget things. I am sure it will all be fine but so much is left undone.

I wonder what it is that wires mothers to be the one who plans and prepares so that things go smoothly. I’m a pretty go with the flow girl but… I’m not sure if leaving for three week days in the summer is cool with me. During the year, school occupies most if the day, but in summer who knows what will happen. Maybe it’s the whole babysitter thing. I don’t know, but I am really regretting this conference.

As much as I am looking forward to a girls spa weekend, I really just want to be home with my family. Why is that? I’m with them all the time! You’d think I would be jumping at this chance, but I’m not. I know if I don’t go, I’ll regret it. And truly, everyone will be fine without me.

Ok. Whining is over. I’m not sure what my deal is but I’m not wanting to leave home.

Leave a Reply

