270: A Political Family

2 Jul

We are a political family. Always have been. It’s in our blood. Both Mr. Mack and I come from a long family history of political involvement. We are democrats. We believe in helping people, equality for all and human rights. I also believe in democracy. Everyone can feel differently. There is a process for making decisions and I know that this is what it means to be an American. We have freedoms and choices that people in other countries don’t have. I am also a moderate feminist. I don’t want to be treated differently because I have a vagina.

Therefore, I stand with Texas Women and I don’t want #sb5 to be a law. I want Texas women to have choice. I know this bill has issues that is far more complex than that. I just don’t want Texas legislators deciding for all women what should be a decision between the patient and the doctor. I also wish they would spend more time and energy toward providing a safe, educated Texas for our children.

Missy Mack and I went to the rally against this bill yesterday. This is the second rally we have attended as a family. I was proud to wear orange and cheer on Senator Davis.

20130702-185128.jpg

20130702-185152.jpg

20130702-185216.jpg

Funniest shirt I saw:

20130702-185256.jpg

There were 5,000 people at the Capitol for the protest.

20130702-185338.jpg

20130702-185352.jpg

We caught up with cousins and Missy Mack climbed trees with second cousins.

20130702-185445.jpg

Leave a Reply

