139: A Day of Thanks

1 Dec

I have been asked to be a mentor for a former student who is going through confirmation in the Methodist church. I felt honored and we have been visiting this church for years so we joined.

Part of the course is the kids will take field trips to churches of other faiths to see how others worship and gain perspective, inclusion and respect for all faiths. Today we went to an all city Interfaith Thanksgiving worship service.

This was truly a great way for everyone to see snippets of many faiths say one thing; Thank You. Very beautiful, very moving. The service centered around Psalms 122. There was a get down gospel choir, a scatting Rabbi, clapping with a Muslim and many other prayers of thanksgiving.

It was a bitterly cold rainy day in Austin and I really just wanted to stay in my pjs at home, but I am very glad I made myself go.

I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

