85: Damned If You Do, Damned If You Don’t

19 Jan

I stopped in Missy Mack’s classroom to see how this adjective runway was gonna go down.

20140119-150422.jpg

20140119-150449.jpg

20140119-150515.jpg

The sticks with the numbers are for the kids to show how many adjectives they can use to describe each person in the runway. So cute!

I decided that I would sneak away and watch. It was super cute. The kids were having fun. Then it was Missy Mack’s turn, she was going with a partner who decided not to do what they planned.

20140119-151232.jpg

Missy Mack began to have a complete meltdown, which she might not have started if I wasn’t in the room. I wanted to shrink or runaway. I hated this moment for her and was wishing myself away but I was stuck. The teacher helped them recover quickly and the girls went separately. Missy Mack went did this crazy dance move down the runway and ended with a smile.

20140119-151609.jpg

20140119-151633.jpg

20140119-151656.jpg

She whispered to me that she cried because she got scared when her friend didn’t do her part. I blew it off and said, ‘well, you recovered great and it all worked out just fine’ and never brought it up again.

I just wonder, when you work at your child’s school, should you take advantage of those moments or should you just stay away. I can never find the right balance.

Leave a Reply

