81: Strong Strange Memory

25 Jan

Today, a memory hit me like a ton of bricks. I was drinking from a Styrofoam cup and I looked down and I was suddenly flooded with memories of my dad’s mom, my g randmother, granny. We spent a lot of time at the country club in our neighborhood at the golf course, the pool, the clubhouse and we always drank out of Styrofoam cups. My grandmother always wore bright pink lipstick so her cup always had her imprint of her lips on her cup. She had this breathy whistle. She also smoked, so I had all these images of her with that cup and her cigarette flashing in my mind. It was like I was being transported through time, like I was watching my childhood with my granny in a fast movie. I wanted it to last forever. Because of that, I left my cup with my lip stain on my desk all week.

085088

Leave a Reply

