74: Another Ice Day

1 Feb

This ice day was a little more dramatic than Fridays. Austin ISD called a late start yesterday at 3:30. As I was getting dressed this morning, I could hear ice pellets hitting my windows, I get an email that school is having business as usual today. We were late attempting to get on the road because even after thawing the car out, our doors were frozen shut and we couldn’t get in the car. As I finally get us settled and wondering what kind of nut I am for driving Missy Mack and I down the hill in this mess, we get the call the we are having a late start. Luckily, we weren’t on the road but lots of teachers were already at school and buses were already en route. There were wrecks and all sorts of mess with teachers, students and parents by the end of the day. 200 accidents all over the city. Crazy town. The day ended with a very nice apology by the superintendent but if I had an accident, I’m not sure it would be enough. It will be 70 degrees on Friday.

Leave a Reply

